top of page

THE LBD VS LWD – Take a stand already!

Coco Chanel is probably turning in her grave at the thought that something could possibly be considered equivalent to her iconic LBD. But it’s true; the ‘fashion powers that be’ have declared the LWD to be an eternal summer version of the ole blackie.

But what I see it as, is a clever strategy to avoid saying ‘It’s a TIE!’

And if you know me, you know I hate ties. (Insert little rant here) I get decision making is hard, but a tie is simply an insult to all parties involved. I mean, clearly declaring a tie, is as good as handing over participation certificates to everyone and not awards.

Anyway, so I thought, let’s settle this in the old fashioned manner. No, not a coin toss, better – a pro-con list!!!!

After exhausting many pens, filling books after books and scratching off points only to re-write them again, I reached a consensus – I need help. I have mental issues. (Okay, I’m just kidding. About the pens and books – not the mental issues)

  • Both the LBD and LWD are equally dress-up-able and dress-down-able.

  • One needs to be skilled at stain removing and laundry (or atleast know a guy) when it comes to LWDs

  • Women who wear black lead colourful lives – what about women in white?

Yes, the list gets quite ridiculous further down. So we need visual aids. Here are two of my most recent LBD and LWD looks:

P.S: What I hate more than anything (even more than a tie) is a cliff-hanger. So naturally, I’ve left you with one :P

Don’t hate me, you know I love ya’ll!


bottom of page