top of page

PHOTOSHOOTS, FLATLAYS AND FAUX ASSISTANTS

At the end of this month, on 27th July, I mark the end of my first year in the blogosphere as an #instablogger!

Woohoo! Applause please :*

500+ days ago, when the idea of ‘100outfitsayear’ began to take shape in my head, I was an #instadisbeliever; To be honest, I simply wanted to style outfits, click photographs of flat-lays, write articles and have nothing to do with (as I then believed) ‘terrible’, ‘pretentious’ Instagram. Little did I know, that joining the community would turn out to be the most exciting aspect in my one year of blogging.

So, on the first anniversary of 100 Outfits A Year, I’ve decided to do a little expose’, and I really do mean expose - the ups and downs and all the little secrets, that were involved in my journey so far.

Here goes!

But first, one thing I’d tell every aspiring blogger?

The #instacrowd is as bipolar as you and me. And GOD, the first year of blogging can be a challenge – but then, so rewarding at times and so much FUN as well!

Why a challenge, you ask?

Well, the life of a blogger is not what it outwardly seems as and is definitely nothing like everyone believes it to be.

1.Dressing up, looking pretty? – Eh sure, depends on what your blog is really about and if you like being under the limelight then yaaaaaay! But if you don’t, well….

2.Getting invited to all the posh events, people fan-girling after you? – Pff. Hardly. Rarely. Sometimes. But it ain’t no holiday!

3.Dawn to dusk photoshoots every other day? – Duh.

4.Planning, planning and some more planning? – Gosh YES!

5.Dealing with writer’s block, unfollowers, shadow ban? – Always! I crie :( and what’s really upsetting? One hour you’ve got 1150 followers and in the next you’re down to 900! What EVEN :O?

Hah! Now you’re wondering - then WHAT IN THE WORLD makes it rewarding?

Every dark cloud has its silver lining, and in this case, it more than makes up for all the insta ‘bipolarity’ (is that even a word?).

Beautiful comments from fellow bloggers and others have continually kept me going :)

Sometimes I wake up and suddenly notice that the latest post has crossed record likes and the number of followers on my account have hiked up considerably. Little rewards – but this is what counts, right?

And, from the very start, I’ve had someone to share this entire experience with – vent to when I’m frustrated, to take over when I’m exhausted, to keep me going when I felt like giving up, and to jump up and down with when things seemed to be going the right way! I like to call her – my best friend, but she’s gotten it into her forgetful little head to be called my ‘assistant’. *cue eye roll*

FYI, I’m one lucky gal to have a photographer (so demanding though :p), co-stylist, therapist (love you forevaa) all rolled into one fabulous best friend, *cough* *cough* I mean assistant.

Thank You Divya, you know I couldn’t have done it without you. :*

A special mention to my dahlin’ Kani, though she claims to have zero ideas wrt fashion, I know how much fun I had on the days she distracted the ‘photographer’, so I wouldn’t be glared at 24*7!

And ofcourse my ‘huzz’ (you know who you are), for consistently reading every article and sharing her thoughts with me - knew I ‘married’ you for a reason :p

Before I sign off for the day, I’d like to take this chance to share with you my plan for 100 Outfits A Year (2017-18)!

What? You thought this was the end? No way!

In a month’s time, I’m moving to Milan, THE fashion capital – and there’s a whole new fashion adventure waiting to start!

I’m going to have the next new 100 ensembles styled in 100 different streets of Milan! Be prepared! Be excited! I know I am!

Bye loves! A Presto!

bottom of page