top of page

WHAT’S THE MANIA BEHIND MONOCHROME?

Lately, I’ve been visualising some really pretty monochromatic outfits But I’m yet to give them a try! Which brings me to my question: When was the last time you flaunted a head-toe in yellow look? Can’t remember? Maybe never?

What I love about a tonal ensemble is that it involves layering, mixing ‘n matching and a really good style sensibility! Of course they work best during winter/fall months, but I’ve come up with a couple of summer-ready looks too! Check ‘em out!

A single colour, a single piece!

Coral really is a beautiful shade and sometimes monochromatic looks can be as simple as wearing just that one garment in one shade.

A single colour, multiple pieces!

On the other hand, a layered chic look in one colour is gorgeously stunning. I used to think that this style would only work when it came to neutrals or pastel colours. But picture this – an all yellow outfit (maxi skirt, camisole, a sling bag – gorgeous right?

A single colour, so many shades!

The best way to play with this style is to pick a colour and layer your outfit with different shades of that one hue! In this summer-ready look, I’m going for a pastel blue top and light blue shorts. But add on a navy summer jacket, maybe denim shoes and be prepared to say WOW!

And the BEST thing about monochromatic outfits? There’s one seamless, flow of colour from head to toe, that visually elongates your silhouette and makes you appear slimmer and taller. How FAB is that?!

bottom of page