top of page

THAT ‘IRRESISTABLE’ DRESS

I’m writing this blog as a ‘letter’ of sorts to my future self. No no, not for a wrinkly old me 20 odd years from now, more like to me 20 days later, or rather until the next time I go shopping.

Here goes: (hope these wise words have the intended effect on me – and you!)

Dear future self,

I’m not bothering with niceties ‘cos you are after all me. So, let’s cut to the chase shall we?

We’ve got to STOP those uncontrollable urges that lead to impulse shopping. And I’m sure you remember why!

Yes, I’m talking about that ‘irresistible dress’ we loved! The one in pale mint green, with an asymmetric flared hem, pleated details at the neck.. ah it still sounds dreaammyyy. Now, I’m not sure if it will be ready and fished out of the closet by the time we read this: but I hope all those pinches and tuck-ins have finally been made and it’s ready-to-wear!

Anyway, the point of this lil’ note is: On the next shopping trip, don’t just buy any dress we deem ‘irresistible’! And to help us out and all those who’ve fallen prey to impulsive shopping, I’ve made a list of ‘YES’S & NO’s’ to help us decide if we’re shopping smart and if something we love at first sight, really is irresistible!

(Now don’t shake your head, you know how much we love making lists :p)

Let’s start with the Nos:

1. It’s gorgeous AND at HALF the price!

Yes, yes sounds like a catch. But think about it – if it’s at half the price, there’s a massive sale going on, which means the store is overflowing with shoppers. In that case the trial rooms probably have queues that extebd way beyond the entrance. So we’re probably not gonna ‘try before we buy’. Plus, if the dress doesn’t fit right, you can’t return items bought on sale – which means alteration. And alterations never get done in time, do they? Meaning: poop pretty dress bought at a steal, hangs untouched in the closet for who knows how long, wasting away… sad and lonely…

Though to be honest, sometimes luck has a huge role to play. Maybe? I think… EH not sure!

2. ‘Saw a celeb in something similar, it’ll be a great addition to my wardrobe’

UM NO. And no explanation needed either.

Okay, moving on to the Yes’:

  1. OMG I LOVE IT! ('and' - not 'or')

  2. DAYUM! IT FITS LIKE A GLOVE (you know what I mean)

  3. GOSH! I JUST CAN’T IMAGINE A DAY NOT WEARING THIS (yes yes, our flair for the dramatic shining through)

So, there you go!

Also, I’ve had a fabulous idea on how to style the pretty green dress in question (when it’s finally altered)!

Yours Sincerely (or should I say Ours?)

HEHEHEHE!

bottom of page