top of page

EVERY WOMAN SKIRTS HER WAY THROUGH

Lately I’ve been sharing a lot of personal stories linked to the outfits I’ve posted. So, I thought why not make this one a good old-fashioned advice piece. Here goes…

Have you ever felt that you’re more self-conscious going out wearing a skirt than any other outfit? I definitely am. I mean there’s a constant monologue playing in my head:

“I shouldn’t have worn a skirt today. Are my legs properly waxed? Oh crap, it’s getting windy. Damn, why did I wear a skirt on a windy day!!”

Does it stop eventually? (The monologue, I mean) No.

As I walk down the street, bunching up the hem of my skirt so it doesn’t blow up – a new set of worries add on:

“What underwear am I wearing today? Why did I forget to wear my spandex shorts underneath!! Do I look to kiddish in this skirt? Oh crap! There’s the wind again!”

And it goes on…

Every skirt has its own customised monologue. The problems we face in a maxi are completely different from those we come across while wearing an umbrella skirt. Does that mean we stop wearing them? Hell No! Skirts to us ladies are like books to bibliophiles.

They require a lot of attention.

They make us twirl in happiness.

They make us clutch our clothes in anxiety.

And even make us wipe stains when we’re sad.

But they’re loved – just like we love our skirts.

Now, if your experiences have made you afraid of skirts but you want to give them a shot – You need a timeless classic. A sartorial uniform you can’t go wrong with. Something that’s great for office, parties, formal gatherings and fun nights. And there is one skirt style that serves as all the above – The Pencil

Skirt.

They have the most flattering cuts and can fit any body type like a glove. A pencil skirt gives an appearance of elongating the body and adding height. Simultaneously slimming and accentuating one’s curves, this skirt can be styled in versatile ways – with a ruffled shirt, a lacy blouse, a fitted tee and blazer or even a crop top.

So, let’s finally get down to the educational bit: The 101 of Wearing a Pencil Skirt

Sure, there are many types of pencil skirts, with different cuts, lengths and prints. But what’s the perfect fit for you?

  1. Ideal waistline should be 2inches above the belly button, so it hugs the figure.

  2. The skirt should fit well at the widest part of your hips and then fall straight down to the hem, without curving inwards.

  3. Obviously the length of the skirt comes down to personal choice, but just a tip – it looks most flattering at the slimmest parts of the legs – just above or below the knee

  4. Try to always pair them with heels, of any kind reslly.

Now you know – when you want to look super-hot but also rule the world, wear a pencil skirt!

SHOP LIKE I DO:

Striped Top – MAX / INR 499

Skirt – Gypsy, Koramangala / INR 600

Scarf – Holii

Shoes – Street Style Store

bottom of page