top of page

HOW TO DEAL WITH FASHION EMERGENCIES

I recently bought this gorgeous gold maxi skirt at a fabulous price. It has a gentle flare with a lace over-layer and looks simply amazing!

Now, on any normal day, I wouldn’t buy something like this, even on discount. But this time I was on the look-out for something jazzy to wear to a wedding. Needless to say, this was perfect! Not only because this graceful skirt was on discount, but also ‘coz I had the perfect crop top to pair with it. With all this in mind, I made the purchase, picked up some matching accessories and left the mall feeling extremely proud of myself. I mean, it ain’t easy shopping for a wedding ensemble and so quickly at that!

So, all-in-all a very successful trip to the mall!

Then, the day before I’m due to fly out to Delhi for the marriage, I decide to try out the whole ensemble, with heels, bangles – the works!

Imagine my horror, when I realise that the ‘perfect crop top’ I had in mind, turns out to be ‘not so perfect’, rather ‘totally imperfect’! As expected, I panicked – big time (Don’t judge, Indian weddings are a big deal).

With no time to shop for an alternative or borrow from friends, I turned to my ever-faithful companion – my wardrobe. Meticulously searching, drawer by drawer, shelf by shelf – I made a pile of ‘maybes’. In that pile, my first choice was a solid black salsa skirt with an elastic waist band. Next thing I know, I’ve cut the hemlines shorter, patched up frayed edges and made myself a black peplum tube top.

To be honest, it looked like a dream come true, matched perfectly with the skirt and the accessories I’d picked out. And was such a quick fix – in less than 2 hours I’d managed to have a panic attack, re-access my situation, empty out my cupboard and create a beautiful new top that is now one of my favourite go-to pieces (for any kind of party!).

Guess it’s true; some people do work best under pressure!

SHOP LIKE I DO:

Gold Skirt – SOCH / INR 999

Top – DIY

Heels – Commercial street / INR 699

Accessory set – Shopperstop / INR 300

Bling Ring – Commercial street / INR 150

bottom of page