top of page

‘TAILOR-MADE’ WONDER

The real story behind this fabulous jumpsuit is quite entertaining and I would love to share it. So, here goes…

I came across this product on Google images, while working on a freelance fashion project. Obviously, loved it, stored it in a lil’ corner of my mind that is especially reserved for ‘new styles to add to my wardrobe’ and then eventually forgot about it.

A few days later, I received an invitation to a graduation ceremony; well… it was my graduation. I couldn’t help thinking how perfect that jumpsuit would be for such an occasion.

What I had in mind was nothing short of sheer perfection: solid black, empire waist, embroidered neckline, spaghetti straps and wide flared bottoms. And thus the hunt began.

I searched on every possible e-commerce site that delivered to India, I filtered all the way down to jumpsuits/black/occasion wear/empire-waist; Hell, I even went through my browser history to find that image I fell in love with and check if it was linked to an online shopping site. But nope, nada, non, nyet, nothing showed up! So, after much internal debating with myself, I settled on getting the same design stitched by a reputed tailor near where I stay.

Now, if you’ve ever gotten anything stitched from a boutique before, you will be familiar with the hassling process that goes as such…

Step 1: Interaction with boutique owner aka a woman who thinks she knows everything about style simply because she owns high-fashion merchandise or because she shops at the best stores.

Step 2: Convince her that you know your taste better than she does.

Step 3: Sketch/explain your design to the ‘Masterji’ who will then proceed to tell you how ‘complicated’ your design is, how much ‘extra cloth’ will be needed and the ‘extra costs’ that will be charged in order for him to get the ‘right fitting’. Seriously?!

Step 4: After about an hour of haggling, arguing about measurements and sizing, you finally place the order and leave the boutique with the air of an accomplished woman.

Anyway, after a few days, I was called in for the ‘first trial’ (*drumroll* for the most awaited moment of the week). Here’s what happened:

The empire waist sits in-line with my belly button, the bottoms are flared way too much and the length is literally half a foot longer than my measurements. With equal parts lividity and disappointment, I demand that the Masterji creates a sample jumpsuit with old fabrics before touching my ‘Black Beauty’ again.

9 days later, a ‘trial 4’, I have two perfect jumpsuits as per my design – one in solid black and the other in bohemian prints. The best part? I got two at the price of 1!

As happy as this ending is… the story isn’t over yet. So read on!

Within 7 weeks of adding black beauty to my wardrobe, I had already worn it three times to three different occasions and styled in three different ways!

1.Graduation Ceremony (mine :p)

Taking a very chic monochrome approach, I paired the jumpsuit with a cream blazer and an off-white satin sash complete with delicate pearl accessories.

2.My Sister’s Engagement

This versatile piece worked as a fabulous highlight for an ethnic ensemble. Paired with a cropped silver brocade work jacket, stacks of bangles and heavy oxidised silver jewellery, including jhumkis and a maang-tika, this outfit was a real stand-out amongst the crowd.

3.A 25th Wedding Anniversary (my parents ;D)

Pulling a classic ‘all black’ look, the jumpsuit was complemented by a black blazer, black heels and a statement neckpiece. The perfect outfit for a perfect night!

Styled it in three distinct ways & yet I know I’ll never run out of ideas to whip up more outfits with it or ever come up with reasons to not love it!

bottom of page