top of page

THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY…

You know that dress you bought with so much hope and excitement, to wear to a particular event, and then didn’t?

But then later planned a whole new outfit centred on that dress, complete with matching accessories, for another event, and didn’t wear it yet again?

And finally, when you did wear it, in a completely unplanned fashion, you thought it had completely lost its charm? (even though you looked fabulous ofcourse)

Yes! That Dress… the one that got away.

I very recently, had the misfortune of experiencing this hit and miss game. And let me tell you, it really does make this outfit less exciting for future use. I felt as though we’d lost that connection that was made when I first laid eyes on it!

So, I kept asking myself.. Whose fault is it? And, as in any relationship, the blame goes both ways. But I can only speak for myself ;)

Here’ what I think happened:

(Flashback to the day I bought this beauty)

ME: Attacking clothes racks in the store in a desperate attempt to find the perfect cocktail gown in limited time

SALES LADY: “Can I help you with anything ma’am?”

ME: Shrugging sheepishly, “Oh no, I’m just looking around”.

SALES LADY: Follows me around the store, hovering barely 2ft behind

ME: After 15 minutes of multi-tasking, i.e slyly trying to escape from the intruding sales woman and searching for a dress that I <3, I say“OMG! I found it!”

Here’s what I saw: Myself in a delicate lacy peach maxi, with a sheer back and long side slits. I’m wearing 5” heels and a jazzy set of pearls with beautifully done-up hair.

It didn’t, for even a moment, strike me that I could also wear this dress with a denim shrug and cute white flats. That I could wear it on casual occasions, to weekend lunches or office dinners. So fixated was I on this picture perfect image, that I refused to acknowledge this dress as a versatile investment piece. And that’s why this dress is ‘the one that got away’.

So, whenever an occasion of even slight decadence arose, I would consider my peach gown as an indulgent option and then put it back in my closet at the last minute, simply because I didn’t have the heart to dress it down.

And that’s what happens in life as well; When you place someone on a pedestal and they don’t live up to your expectations, you find it hard to look at them as you always had. Our relationship with clothes is just as intimate, and hell, how can it not be – clothes literally see ALL of you.

SHOP LIKE I DO:

Peach Maxi – SHOW OFF / INR 1000

White Blazer – MAX / INR 1299

Heels – Trendz / INR 799

Bag – Commercial Street / INR 300

bottom of page