top of page

DOTTIE ME

Take two minutes and just think about how many polka dot clothes/items you have in your wardrobe. (Your time starts now..)

If you’ve got none, you’ve got a serious problem. Truth be told, polka dots have been rather irreplaceable for the past 200 years – what can I say, ‘going round in circles’ has never been un-fashionable! I’ve got nine items myself, including a pair of flip flops! But what I’m sorely missing to complete my set is a polka dot scarf.

An essential with a proud history, it was in reference to a scarf that the term polka dot was first used, by Goldey’s lady’s Book (a women’s lifestyle magazine) in 1857. Knowing this fact, has somehow kept me searching for the perfect polka scarf coz’ picking up one of the many, just doesn’t feel right. (However, I did come awfully close to buying one, a while ago!)

I guess you must think me insane (dottie me :p) for placing such high regards on something as simple and dated as the polka dot – but it’s not just me:

Marvel Comics launched ‘Polka Dot Man’ in 1962, who not only wore dots, but used the power of the polka dot to defeat evil! Also, more relevantly, Marc Jacobs once said “There is never a wrong time for a polka dot”. And, how can there be, they’re ageless – anyone, I mean anyone, who dons a polka, instantly oozes vitality, charm and innocence.

What’s more is that wearing a simple polka dot blouse or scarf (however old you are), makes you feel just a tad happier and a lot more confident. It’s almost like stepping into the shoes (or clothes :p) of timeless icons like Marilyn Monroe, Grace Kelly, Gwen Stefani etc.

Though polka dots are nostalgically linked to the retro age, there’s no shortage eof ways to style them in the modern day. While I definitely advocate the classy ensemble of a navy skater dress with white polkas and strappy heels, this outfit is a bolder way to go about things! It’s all about the circles with this look!

SHOP LIKE I DO;

Polka Jeans - Vashi Jean Shack / INR 1200

Polka Blazer - Snapdeal / INR 799

Mustard sweater - People / INR 600

Shoes - Woodland / hand-me-downs

Belt - Commercial Street / INR 100

Also, if you’re interested in reading a bit of really interesting polka dot trivia or its rich celebrated history in fashion, here’s one of the best links I came across:

https://thehairpin.com/a-brief-history-of-polka-dots-1b9a7f0b6206#.uixprdg75


bottom of page