top of page

DEPRESSED? STAY WELL DRESSED.

When I woke up today morning, once again facing the start of a whole new week, after a miserable weekend of doing absolutely nothing, I could feel my mood slipping down into the dumps. Trust me, I was all set to make a cup of strong coffee, stare into nothingness and ponder over my sorry state.

Speaking wholly from experience (kind of), I can tell you that when one is depressed, its instinctual to put on the loosest, baggiest, shabbiest clothes and neglect appearance. The wardrobe becomes the least of their worries and… and... they begin to question the very relevance of fashion in life (OMG moment)

Here is a very important tip to take to heart: Depressed, Stay well dressed. --

One of the best ways to fight the black smoke is through fashion. Not many people are aware that our outfit choices have very little to do with aesthetics/visual appeal. While you stare at your cupboard thinking ‘what to wear.. what to wear’, your brain is calculating the mood you are in, emotional state, where you’re headed, what activities you will be doing and then the ‘prettiness’ factor. Hence, technically what you pick to wear is factored majorly by your emotions, second by practicality and lastly aesthetics.

So, next time when your mood is pulling you towards pajamas, you say ‘Hell NO! Dresses!’ (or whatever it is you consider anti-depression)

Today when I realized what was going on, I decided to put on one of my bolder dresses (a zebra print mini) and pair it up with a splash of colour (red bag, red hoop earrings, red gloss). It’s a simple choice but definitely raises the bar, way, way up.

Looking at a pretty version of you in the mirror is bound to lift up your spirits rather than staring at a drab reflection, which will send you spiralling deeper. Right?

So never underestimate the power of fashion!

SHOP LIKE I DO:

Dress - Street shopping, Bali / INR 350 :o (it's great quality too!)

Bag - Zodiac

Flip Flops - Commercial Street / INR 200

Earrings - Pantaloons / INR 199

Watch - Titan

er. Right?

So never underestimate the power of fashion!


bottom of page