top of page

STRONGLY OPINIONATED FASHION BABBLE!

I’d rather spend the day street shopping than go to a mall. There. I said it.

But, but... Having said that.. No one can drag me away from a mall during END OF SEASON SALES! What can I say, I like being spoilt for choice!

Now, there are two most obvious assumptions one can make based on my statements:

  1. I enjoy being shoved around in overcrowded places (FALSE)

  2. Shopping on a budget is my way of embracing fashion (TRUE)

I’ve come to believe that brands are perceived to be the very foundation of fashion, accepted and alleviated to an iconic status by a society that behaves in the becoming manner of blowing one’s own trumpet. And these brands cater to that very segment – a niche market – the enslaved rich!

The joys of street shopping cannot be understood by someone who hasn’t even had a glimpse of a bustling-alive and colourfully chaotic fashion street. Walking down the lanes – chatting with vendors, playfully (not always) arguing over prices and buying a million things without really feeling the pinch of money slipping away is – pure satisfaction – to a shopaholic like me.

You doubt it?

Well, I spent 8 hours at my one-stop shopping destination (Com Street), fished out under 10K, came back with around 24 items for my wardrobe – many of which have been used to create the super stylish outfits I post here.

What one may be lead to believe at this stage:

  1. I am not a big fan of branded clothes (FALSE)

  2. Budget Fashionista through and through (TRUE)

But, street shopping is not just about being on a budget (though to college students with a meagre disposable income, it should be reason enough to convert). This is no doubt the best way to incorporate variety into your wardrobe, so that you have a stunning ensemble ready in minutes at a moment’s notice. Join my religion and soon enough, gone will be the days where you have to waste precious time staring blankly at all your clothes in dilemma!

What one can rightly conclude:

  1. I love shopping with a low budget to maximize variety (TRUE)

  2. Street Shopping is my passion (TRUE)

However, sometimes, one needs to splurge on an item that will last through the seasons, something as classic and essential as a LBD (I’ve got a stunning black beauty from Provogue)

And, more often than not all brands become accessible to the masses during sales (eeee! I lurve myself some brands on SALE DAY)

My Go-To Stores: Van Heusen, Forever 21, Westside, Max, Pantaloons, Wearhouse

On Occasion I Pop Into: Global Desi, AND, Zara (hehe saw that – ‘and’)

Also, now that budget friendly online labels like Candidly Couture and Street Style Store are going the distance, I find that I might just pull an 180˚ because, I love creating amazing outfits by mixing ‘n’ matching.

So being 1/3rd parts branded babe and 2/3rd parts budget fashionista can only open the doors wider!

bottom of page